Annual CDT Conference Success

Students from Manchester, Lancaster and Cambridge recently attended the annual CDT Summer Conference on The Science and Technology of Graphene and Related Materials at Holmes Chapel, Cheshire.

CDT Summer Conference Attendees

The four day conference brought together students from related disciplines to network and discuss and share their research while also listen to speakers from academic institutions in the UK and Europe as well as industry, including Dr Amaia Zurutuza from Graphenea.

The student organised conference forms part of the successful framework of the NOWNANO DTC and Graphene NOWNANO CDT at Manchester University and the Graphene CDT at Cambridge University and affords students the opportunity to participate and share their research through presentations and poster sessions.

Prof. Hewak an invited speaker from the University of Southampton commented “I have had a very enjoyable time meeting the students, thank you for inviting me”. Dr Zurutuza from Graphenea said “thank you for inviting me to last week's conference. I really enjoyed it and I thought that the students did a great work organising it”. 

CDT Director, Prof. Grigorieva, commented "this is our seventh conference and it goes from strength to strength each year".

Prizes were awarded for both poster presentations and student talks with the winners as follows:

2nd year Poster Prizes

  • 1st Prize: 2D Superconductors by John Birkbeck (Manchester) 
  • 2nd Prize: Exploration of novel 2D systems using cross sectional and in situ scanning transmission electron microscopy by Alex Rakowski (Manchester) 
  • 3rd Prize: Nanomechanics in Van der Waals Heterostructures by Matthew Holwill (Manchester)

1st year Poster Prizes

  • 1st Prize: Mechanochemical synthesis of 2D materials by Richard Stevenson (Manchester) 
  • 2nd Prize: Raman Spectroscopy as a charaterisation tool of graphene and related materials (GRM) based inks by Vaiva Nagyte (Manchester) 
  • 3rd Prize: Exploiting nano-functionalised graphene and human adipose-derived stem cells towards directed nerve regeneration and interfacing by Steffan Llewellyn (Manchester)

Student Talks

  • 1st Prize: Nanomechanical electro-optical modulator based on atomic heterostructures by Philip Thomas (Manchester) 
  • 2nd Prize: Grain modulation by graphene plasmons in aperiodic DFB lasers by Thomas Folland (Manchester) 
  • 3rd Prize: Multimodal magnetic and luminescent nanoparticles for biomedical and data storage applications by Simon McAdams (Manchester)

The organising committee commented “It was a fantastic opportunity to organise this conference, and bring together students and leading scientists and industry specialists to share knowledge and developments in our respective fields”.

Thanks are given to all invited speakers and industry sponsors, as well as to the host venue Cranage Hall.



▲ Up to the top